New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

A scary new years moment, 2003-01-01, 2:43 p.m.


Well, I saw a scary sight last night.

Let's provide some background, shall we?

The people downstairs can't cook. Well, they can I'm sure. But once again, yesterday at lunch time, I was running to the smoke detector, checking around for smoke in our place. I ignored it first, but it kept going and going. I could smell smoke, when I approched the detector, but realized that once again, they were burning their food downstairs and the smell of smoke was coming through the vents. This happens often, it just took a while for them to turn it off. So yes, they have problems cooking with burning things to the point that the smoke detector goes off.

So last night, at 12, when we were bringing our guests home, I saw them outside of their door. Baby in arms, curled together, her pregnant belly near him. Gun over his shoulder. It was scary. I know that it's a tradition in parts of the province to shoot off guns when it's the new year, but damn, they can't even make toast! Perhaps they should master the art of not burning the house down before they practice the art of shooting around it. Just a thought.

My new years was fun. Damn, we're old. We had d. and p. come over. I'm the oldest of the four of us, but not by much. There must be four years, maybe five between me and d. That's the biggest gap between any of us. We're all between 21 and 26. We should be in our prime! We picked up p., brought her home to get ready, got d., went to the grocery store and picked up the meat that they wanted, as well as other things. I'm such a nervous hostess - I want everything to go well and people to have everything they want. But we got our food and got p. and went to our place. We had loads of food and barbequed. It was great. We used a platter and a tablecloth that we got for the wedding. Which was nice.

We then planted ourselves in front of the tv. It was around 8:30, 9:00. After bumping around the channels for a while, thinking of perhaps watching 'Heavenly Creature' (yay!!), we watched half of the movie 'James Dean' with James Franco in it. Then various Howie Mandel Specials. Yes, Howie Mandel. See, D., p. and myself kept falling asleep. We were in no state to debate. We woke up and decided that they wouldn't stay over - they live in an apartment downtown and have unpredictable neighbours and we weren't sure where we'd put them. So it worked out. We left at 12, amid fireworks and cheering. And gunshots from the downstairs neighbours.

I've slept almost all day. It's kind of weird.

Happy New year. 2002 was good to me. Let's hope 2003 is good to us all.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *