New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

2004 questions, 2005-01-01, 7:18 p.m.


Taken from jenne1017:

(Looking Back on 2004)

1. What did you do in 2004 that you'd never done before?
I gave birth. I breastfed. Babyrelated I did a lot that I never did before.

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I don't really make them. However, right now it's time for me to get serious about getting my belly back to where it was before P., so it's coincidental that my goal to work out more and do that falls in the new year.


3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Yes, ME!!

4. Did anyone close to you die?
This year saw the death of my Grandfather and my Uncle.

5. What countries did you visit?
None. Last year we went to the US and this year we're going to it again for a day or so, but this year nope, nowhere but Newfoundland.

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004?
A little more money and jeans that I like.

7. What date from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
April 27th, 2004. When P. was born. The days around it, both before and after, will stay in my memory for a long time. Included in that are the days where my grandfather was put in the hospital when my parents were in Russia, just before I was put in the hospital.


8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Motherhood. Definately motherhood. Past that, perhaps accepting that my size won't change right away.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Even though I accept my size and how it's not very small, I'd say that not getting closer to my prepregnancy size. And not reading 200 books. Or, my last few months teaching when I really was to uncomfortable to move, much less deal with Junior High Kids.


10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Nope.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
My new shampoo - honey shampoo from the body shop. Or my 'L' pillow, as it's been great for breastfeeding.

12. Who's behavior merited celebration?
The courts in my province who said that yes, gay people can marry.

13. Who's behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Bush and the fact that he got voted back in. I don't know enough about politics in the States, but I do know that action bothered me greatly.


14. Where did most of your money go?
Baby stuff.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
P. Just how he is.

16. What song will always remind you of 2004?
Hey Ya - gotta agree with Jenne here. And 'Still Fighting It'.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: Happier or sadder?
Happier

ii. thinner or fatter?
Fatter

iii. richer or poorer?
Poorer

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
Sleeping


19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Shopping

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
Dunno - it's almost a year away!! Most likely as we did this year; time at our home and time at my parents


22. Did you fall in love in 2004?
Yes, with my son.

23. How many one-night stands?
None at all!

24. What was your favorite TV program?
The amazing race, CSI, NCIS, American Chopper, What Not to wear.


25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
No, but a relationship is much worse.

26. What was the best book you read?
Hmmm.... "My Beautiful Child"

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Not sure - I didn't discover many acts. Perhaps Ben Kweller

28. What did you want and get?
A healthy baby.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?
Wimbleton or Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I went out for supper with my husband on the day I turned 28.

32. What's one thing that would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Fitting into my jeans right after giving birth.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2004?
Maternity mixed with baggy

34. What kept you sane?
Naps.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Kate Winslet

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
Same Sex Marriages

37. Who did you miss?
My Grandfather in the larger sense. L. in the everyday sense.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
P. And to be less mushey, some of the teachers at my school.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004:
It will all work out. Honest.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

Good morning, son.
I am a bird
Wearing a brown polyester shirt
You want a coke?
Maybe some fries?
The roast beef combo�s only $9.95
It�s okay, you don�t have to pay
I�ve got all the change

Everybody knows
It hurts to grow up
And everybody does
It�s so weird to be back here
Let me tell you what
The years go on and
We�re still fighting it, we�re still fighting it
And you�re so much like me
I�m sorry

Good morning, son
In twenty years from now
Maybe we�ll both sit down and have a few beers
And I can tell you �bout today
And how I picked you up and everything changed
It was pain
Sunny days and rain
I knew you�d feel the same things

Everybody knows
It sucks to grow up
And everybody does
It�s so weird to be back here.
Let me tell you what
The years go on and
We�re still fighting it, we�re still fighting it
You�ll try and try and one day you�ll fly
Away from me

Good morning, son
I am a bird

It was pain
Sunny days and rain
I knew you�d feel the same things

Everybody knows
Tt hurts to grow up
And everybody does
It�s so weird to be back here.
Let me tell you what
The years go on and
We�re still fighting it, we�re still fighting it
Oh, we�re still fighting it, we�re still fighting it

And you�re so much like me
I�m sorry

- Ben Folds, 'Still Fighting It'


(1 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *