New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Manawaka and other tales, 2002-02-21, 6:38 a.m.


I've added my 'older entries' to to bottom of my entry. I think that sometimes I write a lot of daily entries and then noone reads them. Which is fine, but I guess I don't want people to think all I do are online tests and quizzes. If the look of it doesn't bug me, I shall keep it.

Reading the Manawaka 'series' is much more appropriate when you read them all together. I didn't remember who Vernon Winkler was in 'The Fire Dwellers', but I remember him now and the reference makes it all the more tragic. The evolution of the plaid pin and the knife is more and more interesting. I find myself now, in reading the fifth and final novel 'The Diviners' (not really the final but the one that I have chosen to read last) making the connections and seeing the web that has been written for this small town. It also is interesting how similar the treatment of Vanessa (from 'A Bird in the House') and Hagar (from 'The Stone Angel') is. One young, one old, yet both are ignored and both hear half stories and information from whispers. The difference being that Vanessa does not always understand and Hagar understands all to well. If you've not read the novels, I suggest you do. They're really quite interesting.

I got my stats assignment back - a 20.75/22, or a 94. I just have to finish the one that is due around now and get ready for the exam. There's so much I don't know. I can do it in labs but past that... I'm hopeless. Or so it seems. So I'm terrified. Please, give me some encouragement.

I must get ready to work. I have parent-teachers tonight, and unlike yesterday, my schedule is full. However, out of the three yesterday, the two that were parents said that their child really liked me and that I appealed to their level. Which is nice. Let's see how tonight goes....

Countdown to Stats Midterm: 2 days


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *