New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Colab beginning, 2002-05-14, 6:36 a.m.


I've been thinking of an entry for the We have brains colab. It'll be terribly late. But I still want to write it. Perhaps I'll start now and see how it goes.

This colab is to write about a womyn who has influenced us. Right now, I can say that my mother is one of the most wonderful, most influential people in my life. But I don't want to write about that. That comes out in much of what I write. There have been other womyn who have really influenced me. They've been there for me through thick and thin, taught me, nurtured me, been my friend and my confidante. It is not of those womyn I wish to write. I should, as I am very lucky to have had them, but I will not write of them. I want to write about someone who helped me see what I wanted to be and what I didn't want to be through her actions, strengths and weaknesses. I don't know her any more. I don't know if I want to know her anymore - after our 'break-up' we saw each other a couple times but nothing big. We could have reconnected but at that time I was not in a place to do so.

And I'm out of time for now. I think I'm ready to write. Please check this page again later - this paragraph will be gone and in it's place, the incredibly true story of two girls.

So.... where to begin? I met this girl, whom I shall call T. my first term of university. We were in several classes together. I must admit, some of my first thoughts were 'she's about my size and she can wear that, why can't I?'. We became closer as term wore on and I began to know her friends and boyfriend and invited her to my birthday and christmas parties. Second term we became closer and she set me up with a friend of hers. We actually were mixed up sometimes as we had similar faces and hairstyles, as well as body types. Our clothing styles also overlapped sometimes. We were the terrible twins. It was fun.

This friend of hers, her boyfriend, she and myself became a very close group that summer. I worked in her mothers office with T. and her boyfriend. This was a job that I had to fight to get. This was something I learned from her, something that I didn't want to learn. Her mom had told her that she could pick the people she'd be working with this summer. The jobs were student grants and were in a Womyn's Economic Organization office. This was an umbrella group of different Womyn's organizations from around the province - her job was funded through a grant that one of those other groups had gotten. I had worked with similar things before - typing, organizing, computer work, planning - and I'm female. Her boyfriend needed job experience as he'd never worked before. There were two jobs in the beginning and we each got one. Fine until they lost the funding for one. She was going to give it to her boyfriend. I'd turned down two or three jobs to take this one and was miffed. I learned from her that love and boyfriends sometimes skew your idea of friendship. That as a female, we can sometimes trust female friends until men are involved. I got the job but there were hurt and resentful feelings and she had to give him some of the money she earned.

This is going badly. I may change this or more later. I did learn a lot from this womyn - the power that love can have on someone, for instance. However, there were many negative things I learned that I believe made me a stronger person. This just seems to be turning into a bitch fest about this girl. Maybe I'll change topics. Hmmm...


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *