New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Bombs, Feminism and Bonnie and Clyde, 2001-09-27, 2:06 p.m.


My last entry might have seemed a little rushed at the end. Or abrupt? Whatever the word, there was a reason behind it. As I was posting (from work, as I'm a bad girl :), all teachers were called to the office immediately. There was a bomb threat. We had to evacuate the school. And it is now canceled for the day. So I'm at my parents house. The bro and I might watch a movie.

It's scary - we closed for a bomb threat. Yes, I'm used to those - my high school had them all the time. But after the 11th of Sept, they're taken more seriously. It was called in from the local drug store (local meaning the one by the school). So it was assumed that it was a prank. But still... the comfort level of going back that day. Non-existant. We couldn't do it. Anyway... that was why my other entry ended so quickly.

I recently posted in someones guestbook about feminism. I am a feminist. I believe in equal rights - for men and womyn. I want womyn to be able to do the things that men can do. I also want men to be able to do the things that womyn do. So often, the things we consider feminine are weak things. Thus, womyn can take over typically masculine roles but men cannot take over typically feminine roles. As a feminist, I want a womyn to be the Prime Minister/President/etc. But I also want a man to be a Kindergarten teacher. I want womyn and men to be able to choose who gets maternity/paternity leave - not have it assumed that only the mother wants to bond with the baby. I want the world to be safe for both genders. And I want people to be able to be themselves. So often we call our little girls who are into 'boy things' tomboys. Actually, they are little girls. We call our boys that are into 'girl things' sissies. They are little boys. There is a long way to go. And in the struggle, so often, more people get hurt. It is thought that as womyn gain more ground, men are losing it. Which is true. Abuse of womyn by men - or at least reported abuse - could be said to be on the rise. It is hypothised that this could be because we are empowering womyn, but not the men. Or making it seem as though they have to lose their power to live with an empowered womyn. When really, they don't. That, to me, is feminism. As that is equality.

I read the lyrics to a song recently. It was posted on a list that I'm on, because people were discussing things that scared them. This song was originally done by Eminem on his 'Slim Shady LP'. It was recently covered by Tori Amos on her new album 'Strange Little Girls'. I have not heard either version. However, the lyrics reminded me of part of the reason I began declaring I am a feminist. Apparently Eminem wrote this about his wife. He sampled his little girl talking on it. His wife wanted to use it in court. Tori Amos wanted to give the victim a voice. So, without further ado, here is ''97 Bonnie and Clyde'. Note: Tori�s version of this song is spoken-word. She only sings the line, �Just the two of us.�

Baby your da-da loves you
And I�m always gonna be here for you no matter what happens
You�re all I got in this world
I�d never give you up for nothin
Nobody in this world is ever gonna keep you from me
I love you

C�mon Hai-Hai, we goin to the beach
Grab a couple of toys and let da-da strap you in the car seat
Where�s mama? She�s takin a little nap in the trunk
Oh that smell, da-da musta runned over a skunk
Now I know what you�re thinkin - it�s kinda late to go swimmin
But you know your mama, she�s one of those type of women
that do crazy things, and if she don�t get her way, she�ll throw a fit
Don�t play with da-da�s toy knife, honey, let go of it
And don�t look so upset, why you actin bashful?
Don�t you wanna help da-da build a sand castle?
And mama said she wants to show how far she can float
Don�t worry about that little boo-boo on her throat
It�s just a little scratch - it don�t hurt, her was eatin
dinner while you were sweepin and spilled ketchup on her shirt
Mama�s messy isn�t she? We�ll let her wash off in the water
and me and you can pway by ourselves, can�t we?

Just the two of us
Just the two of us
Just you and I
Just the two of us

See honey.. there�s a place called heaven and a place called hell
There�s a place called prison and a place called jail
And da-da�s probably on his way to all of em except one
Cause mama�s got a new husband and a stepson
And you don�t want a brother do ya?
Maybe when you�re old enough to understand a little better
I�ll explain it to you
But for now we�ll just say mama was real real bad
She was bein mean to dad and made him real real mad
But I still feel sad that I put her on time-out
Sit back in your chair honey, quit tryin to climb out
I told you it�s okay HaiHai, you wanna ba-ba?
Take a night-night? Nan-a-boo, goo-goo ga-ga?
Her make goo-goo ca-ca? Da-da change your dia-dee
Clean the baby up so her can take a nighty-nighty
Your dad�ll wake her up as soon as we get to the water
Ninety-seven Bonnie and Clyde, me and my daughter
me and my daughter
me and my daughter

Just the two of us
Just the two of us
Just you and I
Just the two of us

Wake up sweepy head we�re here, before we pway
we�re gonna take mama for a wittle walk along the pier
Baby, don�t cry honey, don�t get the wrong idea
Mama�s too sweepy to hear you screamin in her ear
That�s why you can�t get her to wake, but don�t worry
Da-da made a nice bed for mommy at the bottom of the lake
Here, you wanna help da-da tie a rope around this rock?
We�ll tie it to her footsie then we�ll roll her off the dock
Ready now, here we go, on the count of free..
One.. two.. free.. WHEEEEEE!
There goes mama, spwashin in the water
No more fightin wit dad, no more restraining order
No more step-da-da, no more brother
Blow her kisses bye-bye, tell mommy you love her
Now we�ll go play in the sand, build a castle and junk
But first, just help dad with two more things out the trunk
Just the two of us..


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *