New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Happy Hallowe'en!, 2001-10-31, 7:02 a.m.


Tis Hallowe'en!! And I never got my hallowe'en layout up. But it was made. Hmm.....Perhaps I'll use it later.

I was going to dress up. But I have no idea if any other teachers are dressing up. I'm going to bring my costume in a bag. I'm not terribly original but it would have been interesting. I was going to go as a skater. I have some of D.'s old clothes and I was going to wear that - huge pants, chain, carry a board, etc. The thought was to do my hair blue, but that was to much of a pain. My problem is... hmm.. I need to write another entry on happenings of yesterday, but it has raised my concern that I am to informal with the students. That they think I want to be their friend and the dicipline issues arise from there. I had a big problem yesterday and I have to rethink the way I present myself. At least to these two students. And I've been working hard to get students to listen, work and learn and don't want to lose that if I present myself as a student figure. Like a skater. But it would have been fun and comfortable. And if other teachers are dressed up, I may put it on. Problems be damned!

I hate that I have to question myself and my teaching in order to fit as a teacher. Perhaps I don't really. Perhaps it's just little things. But I really was hurt yesterday. And I am new. And, as my mentor said, I have a tendancy to let my guard down. To be a little less formal. But I'm not going to totally change. Lessons like my Pearl one the other day I'm going to continue doing. I am going to continue bringing myself to the classroom. I just have to bring more sternness as well.

Bah. Why can't I figure it all out. It all seems to contridict itself.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *