New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

I want my carnival now, 2002-01-25, 6:36 a.m.


There's something I've been thinking about for a while. It really bugs me actually. There are people who feel their life starts when they get married, have some kids and live happily ever after. These people tend to want to do this by 19 or 20, so that they can get their life started as soon as possible. Needless to say, I am not one of those people.

How can your life starting depend on others? How can the bringing of a child into the world or the legal union with another make your life start? Yes, it begins a new phase in your life - parent or spouse. But it does not begin your life. You are a person before you are a spouse or a parent. You are equal to anyone. Because you are just you doesn't mean you are waiting for a life or anything like that. It means that phase hasn't started. What about all the ones that have? Do they not count? Do you not count?

My life started much earlier than these peoples. Mine started when I was born. I've always wanted to live to the fullest, do as much as possible, live what I have been given. To decide that I'm living based on others... It's not me. It reminds me a lot of traditional female roles (as most of the people - if not all - I've heard saying this are female) and our need to be married and 'have a man' to be a person. We are persons under the law. A canadian heritage moment told me so. To base your life on this... well, it just doesn't work for me. It says you are unequal. I am equal to anyone - it doesn't matter what they say. How is it that some people think it takes someone else to make them equal?

Now, I'm not saying that the other people are wrong. I just think... well, maybe they are wrong. That says something about your selfesteem if you have decide that the start of your life is dependant on someone else. If you live like that, how will you have anything but regrets?

From 'Aspects of Love', the song performed at George's wake. 'Hand me the Wine and the Dice'. To living today! Enjoy it on your own terms.

George was an original man.
He did not want to change human life.
He rejoiced in the way we are made.
He did not look forward to heaven --
He was happy with the earth.
He loved and understood
The flesh, food, wine, love...
He lived for today and firmly believed:

If death were given a voice,
That voice would scream through the sky:
Live while you may for I am coming...

So...

Hand me the wine and the dice,
I want my carnival now,
While I have thirst and lust for living!

So gather all you can reap,
Before you're under the plough --
The hand of death is unforgiving!

Hand me the wine and the dice,
While there are grapes on the vine --
Life is a round of endless pleasures!

The end is always in sight,
But it tastes better with wine --
Why pay your life in tiny measures?

Hand me the wine and the dice,
The time is racing away --
There's not a taste that's not worth trying!

And if tommorow it ends,
I won't have wasted today --
I will have lived like I am dying.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *