New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Children will listen, 2001-11-20, 2:01 p.m.


Yet another day to scream. Conversations in the staffroom about how the computers they will get are junk, by people protesting the use of them at all. The 'I don't want it but if you give it to me give me the best' kind of attitude. I just want to shake them. Want to shake them and hurt them. I had to leave. I said to Jason as I was leaving that I had to get out or I'd scream. He said 'be good'. I further replied that I was being good - that's why I had to leave. This attitude bugs the crap out of me. I mean really. You are a teacher. In taking on the job you accept many things. One is that the world changes and we are teaching the world to these students.

Shakespeare doesn't matter - it's how he fits into the world and his views of it that we are studying. Science doesn't matter. It's how it relates to the world, the current thoughts and trends. Social Studies is the study of the social world. What is that but ever changing and intangable? We, as teachers, reflect society. We are the ones that are building the new society. We educate children into their place in society. If we teach them hatred, they will leave us with hatred. If we teach them intolerance, they will leave intolerant. If we teach them compassion, they will walk all over us, but they will leave with compassion. We see them almost as much as their televisions do! Yes, the parents, being parents, have a large chunk of time, but so do we. So to teach with intolerance, to teach with that kind of attitude, what is it showing the children? What kinds of acceptance and tolderance will they learn from that attitude?

We may not like how we have to be as teachers. However, we have to realize that we are educating the world. The future. And we have to deal with that. We are taught 'don't let a bad day seep into the class'. Well, don't let a bad attitude follow you in either.

From 'Into the Woods', one of my favourite songs - Children will Listen.

Witch [simultaneously with Baker]:
Careful the things you say,
Children will listen.
Careful the things you do,
Children will see.
And learn.

Children may not obey,
But children will listen.
Children will look to you
For which way to turn,
To learn what to be.

Careful before you say,
"Listen to me."
Children will listen.

Company: Careful the wish you make,
Wishes are children.
Careful the path they take,
Wishes come true,
Not free.

Careful the spell you cast,
Not just on children.
Sometimes the spell may last
Past what you can see
And turn against you...

Witch: Careful the tale you tell.
That is the spell.
Children will listen..


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *