New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Free to decide, 2002-06-19, 6:24 a.m.


I keep seeing these abortion protesters outside the hospital when I pass it on my way home in the evening.

I want to yell at them.

I want to go up to them and ask if they're communist. When they say no, reply that they must be fascist. When they look confused then say that they can't be capitalists because they're spending the afternoon walking outside a hospital. Then mention to them they have to be something in that line as they are trying to take the right to choose away from womyn.

They have a sign which states Adoption is the right choice. I want to ask them how many babies they've adopted. When they say none (or one or two) ask why they are denying so many babies homes. They are choosing to to have them in their families and thus rejecting the baby and keeping them from the 'good life they can provide'.

I want to hit them and tell them that they feel they can choose what I do with my body so I'm choosing what they can do with theirs. And they can be in pain.

The closer I get to having children (we're talking years here) the more pro-choice I become. I will never have an abortion unless medical reasons dictate that I have to. But I want the right to make that choice, even if I choose to have a baby. I want that baby to have the right to choose. I want my students to have that right. I want everyone to have it.

I will have to talk to them. D. and I are going to make it a project. I'll keep you updated.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *