New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Just because I have my own beat doesn't mean I can dance to it., 2001-09-06, 6:56 p.m.


Did you ever want to do something different? Ever want to be a different type of person than everyone else? I think - and it has been said to me - that I have my own drummer. No not a literal drummer! But I have my own drummer, my own beat. I follow my own path. Anyway... the way school is, each department has a department head. They set the books, make the decisions. Some are fantastic - the school where I did my internship has a wonderful one. But mine now... well.. here's how our recess conversation went:

    Me: Yeah, I got their e-mail addresses. If they're sick for a while I can e-mail work home. I'm also thinking of making a homework page.

    Her:A what?

    Me: A page that has their homework on it so that if they're out they can check it. Or their parents can.

    Her: You can't do that. If you do it, they'll expect us all to do it! You may be sitting at a computer for 50% of the time, but I'm in class.

    Me: Well, I wouldn't do it in school. I'd do it at home. Its what I do - I'm a web designer.

    Her:Well, I don't do work at home. I think its a good idea, but in the real world...(Turns to a teacher by her and mentions the conversation). I think putting things on the internet is snobbish anyway (and the conversation continues between them on that vein)

So yeah. Am I crazy? I don't think so. At least not in a bad way. I think that I'm being a good teacher by ensuring that parents have a chance to check when their kids have tests. Students have a calender of due dates they can access. If they lose a sheet they can print it off - at school or at home. I know not everyone has the internet - but it opens up options for people more than not doing it does. And I'm going to. Its just frustrating because I'm not used to people like that, knowing that I'll have to work with them all year. And its only the 3rd day! Just because she's two years from retirement doesn't mean that I have to work as though I am!

But enough about that. Just because it makes me mad.

I have to teach 'The Pearl' in October. I think I'm going to do what a friend of mine suggested and make it about social layers and inequalities and structure and political things more so than Keno's world. Or whatever. I hated the book. I have to find a way to make it interesting. Otherwise it'll be a long unit.

I bought a nice blouse today. Blue. Three quarter sleeves. It'll look nice with my beige pants. bah. I hate clothes shopping.

I'm trying to redesign my CSS page so that it works in netscape and I can use it as a design for this diary. And its not working. Dammit. It looks like crap made in tables. But wonderful in CSS. Has to do with overlaps and the like. And while this may be my diary and I may be doing this for me, the fact that I've put it on the internet means that I know people may stumble across it. And if they do, I want them to be able to read it. And I already know that one person who reads it uses netscape. Why can't netscape be up to where IE is? Why oh Why? Bah humbug.

I also think I'm going to place my rings on this server. That means that I have to make a page that has just my rings. I wonder if I backdate it, will it show up earlier... hmm.... perhaps I should contact Andrew....


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *