New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Disjointed paper of mine, 2003-07-08, 6:56 a.m.


The paper is still not done. A monstrosity it is. I'm have this horrid feeling that I've veered off topic with it, leaving me a paper that makes little to no sence. I still have to write about the influence of reality television, music and movies - I've done the set up to that. What I have to remember is that this is a researched work, so my opinion will not necessarly be validated by other works. I may have to do my own research and a large work to determine that. Because I know I'm right - I've observed enough to know that the media does influence and then replicate the externilization of emotions for males and the internalization of emotions for females. While there is some shifting in the past years to what is happening with males and females, this is happening and is represented in our popular culture. From this, we can not change our popular culture to change this continuum, but instead, need to raise critical thinkers who can view something, hear something, read something - consume a media - and think about it critically, not accept it as truth. We also need to teach better communication skills so that males and females do not feel they need to go to the lengths they do to exhert their feelings. And finally, with that done, the consumer and the target audience will change and so media will shift their programming to some extent. But it's all about thinking critically.

I don't blame media for much. I do however, blame the emphasis we place on some aspects of it, but more that while placing this emphasis, we do not do much in the way of teaching critical thinking. Children need to think and be able to see things on many levels. It's needed and necessary.

And that's my little rant for now. As I said, this isn't making much sence. But it should, at some point, be my paper.

In other news, I might have another interview. Damn phone tag.


(1 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *