New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

There is a doorbell you know!, 2001-10-31, 7:17 p.m.


It's hallowe'en evening. And we've gottan a lot of trick or treaters. This was ok for the first couple. Now it's a pain. Have any children heard of a doorbell? Or are they content simply banging down my door?

Thank you for your encouraging words in my guestbook. Greatly appreciated. I had a talk with the principal today. He said that talking to the girls I had problems with, they said they aren't used to the kinds of things I do in the classroom. And how for them, the see learning as measured in assignments and marks. How I don't get mad at them for different things. And I don't. I am a new teacher. I teach in the new methods. It's how I am. I was really feeling low about it, but then I thought about what the principal and the guidance counsellor said. They said that they needed more like me. People who know the new and aren't stuck in the old. That makes me feel good.

And I will be myself as a teacher. I stressed this to the girls. I have to be me. It's how I am and if I'm fake, it won't be good. And I told them I will get a little stricter about a few things. I don't want to seem like a pushover. Because I'm not.

The kitty cat is feeling better. He's crazy and quite confused by the occasional doorbell and the loud knocking. He is in his room because he may just run out - he's not an outdoors cat, but would love to explore. So we let him out sometimes and he runs. We had to chase him around and would almost get him, only to find that he'd squirmed out of our grasp. I found him on the top of the stairs, ducking his head in hopes that I wouldn't see him (as, if he can't see me, I can't see him :). We finally cornered him - he ran into the kitchen and I came after him, he went out the other door to run down the stairs only to find D. on them so ran into the hall to find all the doors closed. He then began backing up, knowing he was caught! What a silly guy. Hopefully we won't have to take this precaution next year, but this year, it's important. He doesn't know the area and can run fast. With all the cars around, driving around trick or treaters, it could be tragic. But what a silly guy....

Hallowe'en moment of the day. D. answered the door to find a little girl. He handed her a pile of stuff. She looked at it, and in a little girl voice 'But I already have some suckers!'

Hallowe'en runnerup moment of the day. A student dressed in a red velvet dress, a chain belt, a beautiful sarong that she was using as a shawl. She told me that she's a witch. She's tired of the stereotypes of witches lately and had to combat them. I love it when students have their own opinions and impressions like that!

Now... must hope that few kids show up now... all the candy that I like is left :)


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *