New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Getting lost, a funeral, a dinner and kicking, 2004-02-16, 11:39 a.m.


Well, this weekend was interesting. It had highlights and some very lowlights, but overall, I left it feeling quite good about family and my life.

Saturday was the funeral. We left late and got out there about 10 minutes before it began. Which was fine - we were there for it. All dads siblings but one were there, and almost all had a comment about how big I've gotten. Many of them I'd not seen in ages, so it was interesting.

The funeral was short - I guess anglican services are short. Dad started it with the eulogy and he did a really good job. Afterwards, D. and I was discussing the whole concept of eulogies and agreed that they would be easy to write for someone you didn't know or care about, but that the point is that they are about someone you do know and care about. It's a bit of a catch-22 I guess. He remembered times spent in childhood and this past summer, stating that it wasn't a mistake that the funeral was on valentines day, as my uncle was a loving husband, father, grandfather and brother.

The burial of the ashes and cane was up a steep steep hill. It was agreed that had nan and pop been well enough to make it, they would have had to be driven up the hill. I had a hard time making it up and D. held my hand the whole way, ensuring I didn't fall.

We went to a social afterwards, where we stayed for a short time. We mentioned our desire to go out to visit Nan and Pop this summer with the baby, which was met with positive comments as well as comments about how things will change with the baby.

We left considering an invite for supper from mom and dad. While discussing it, we took the wrong way and ended up going out a dirt road. At first, we kept going thinking the highway was close, but then, kept going to find out where it went. We never got to the end, but did find out that it was headed to a small community. So we turned around and finally found the highway. I mentioned to my stomach that yes, mommy and daddy get lost a lot because they just want to know where roads go. I told the baby that at least this time we were in a car. We did miss going to any corner stores, so it was lucky that I'd packed some snacks - we ate some on the way out and finished them on the way home.

Passing the exit to my parents community, we realized that if we went home, we would be home for 10 minutes and then be leaving again. Had we not taken our little detour, we could have been home for a while. Ah well. We decided to go straight to the parents house.

This was a good decision in many ways. My uncles were there and had gotten into the beer. D. was supplied with a beer as soon as he entered the house and one uncle made sure he had a drink every time his beer was empty. Between that, the empty stomach, the tiredness and then the barbequed sausage, he was quite groggy. Not drunk, but groggy. Another uncle made sure we always had food around us, which would be offered several times if we turned it down. Bad jokes flowed as much as the beer. Quite interesting to see my dad interact with his brothers.

For a while, it was me, D., my mom and an aunt. We had a lot of discussions about babies, life in my old home town, pregnancy and weight. Apparently, I'm smaller than I was last time she saw me (execept for the stomach I hope!) and I'm pregnant. Which is nice to hear in some ways. There were many interesting threads throughout the conversation.

When my aunts appeared, we ate. Supper was steak, onions, roast potatoes, salads and bread and was really really good. My steak wasn't cooked enough, so mom ate it. It was wonderful. When we left, I felt warm and fuzzy about it all. It was good to be there.

Sunday was a relaxation day, which was wonderful. D. and I watched some movies, watched some tv and ate some popcorn. Quite relaxing. But the memorable part of the day was having D. finally feel the baby kick. Usually the baby kicks before D. puts his hand on my belly, and sometimes after. This time he didn't miss it. It was good.

Today is a holiday, so I'm relaxing with some tv and movies by myself. I might take a nap at some point. I'm on a nice weekend buzz and I like it.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *