New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

High School English, 2003-03-25, 3:31 p.m.


Well, they've counter offered. Both agents that we've been dealing with (the main guy and the female on his team) are coming over at 4:30. I'm confused but going to go with it.

Damn, I'm going to be a homeowner.

I just did the dishes and needed to take my inhalor. I feel so very much like Piggy in Lord of the Flies. My Ass-mar and glasses give me that dreadful feeling.

Lord of the flies reminds me of high school english. In this huge old room with my buddies, including the friend I had a huge crush on that had a girlfriend, and the friend that I had a huge crush on the year later that I think liked me too but with whom nothing execpt an aborted date happened. But that's not the point. Grade eleven english, studying 'Lord of the Flies', 'Lure of the Labrador Wild' and 'Macbeth'. I hated 'Lure', as did my friends. We christened it Lord of the Labrador Flies and dispised it the full way through. The teacher, an outdoorsman himself said "If you dislike the outdoors, you'll find this book slow moving. If you like the outdoors you'll find this book slow moving". It was written by this guy, Wallace, who went with Hubbard and Big George, their indian cook (yes, as the book states, Big George their Indian Cook). It talks of their failed mission across labrador. New Yorkers who thought they could go across labrador in the winter. In the end, the leader of the group, Hubbard, dies. We were happy. He deserved it the stupid man. Ok, looking back, that wasn't the most sympathetic feeling. But the guy lead an expedition where they dropped food instead of their big heavy camera, didn't know the way but didn't hire a guide and just was generally stupid. They ate their shoes. He brought about his own downfall.

Looking at the list, you can see how male centered that curriculum was - Lure, Lord and Macbeth. The next year they brough in Random Passage but still, it was frustrating. I remember debating with my uncle, who was on a school board on the other side of the province about this. See, Hubbards wife wrote a book as well. She hired a guide and 'Big George' and went across labrador. Wallace went as well, in a competitive journey and came in second. She wrote a book about her experiences. I've not read this book, but well, it has to be better than lure. Past that, I have read some of her work (an essay or two) and she can write - her book is known as a Canadian classic. Wallace couldn't write well, or at least didn't write that book well.

Here's some links about them:

That was high school english. No wonder there's such a gender bias. It was a fun class however. They were horrid but fun times.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *