New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Imagine, 2001-09-11, 8:16 p.m.


I've been trying to make some sense of the day. But I can't. Thinking about everything makes me wonder how this could happen.

I read a book about something like this once. 'Executive Orders' by Tom Clancy started after a disaster such as this. It was a sequel to 'Without Remorse' that I guess had the crash. In it, the government was destroyed. I never thought it could be real.

Sure, I'm not american. But I am affected by this, even if I don't live in the country. My students asked about it all afternoon - we spent last period watching the news. Two classes of grade nines. Silent. Completely silent. I forgot for a while. Or tried to. Went to a meeting. Answered an ICQ when I got home. And then realized what I was putting out of my mind. Realized what I was trying to forget.

I don't want to forget this. I don't want to put this out of my mind. We have to remember events. We have to learn. The world changed today. If we forget, we die.

We don't know what's coming. We don't know what tommorrow will bring. There are people who are hurting badly today. And will hurt for so long. Will it hurt more knowing who did it? Will it hurt less? Who knows?

Two diary entries trying to figure it out. It's going to take more time than that. I'm trying to write on other things, but I can't. So, as it is fitting, the lyrics to 'Imagine' by John Lennon:

Imagine there's no heaven,
It's easy if you try,
No hell below us,
Above us only sky,
Imagine all the people
living for today...

Imagine there's no countries,
It isnt hard to do,
Nothing to kill or die for,
No religion too,
Imagine all the people
living life in peace...

Imagine no possesions,
I wonder if you can,
No need for greed or hunger,
A brotherhood of man,
Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world...

You may say Im a dreamer,
but Im not the only one,
I hope some day you'll join us,
And the world will live as one.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *