New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Damn lack of internet at home!, 2003-06-02, 9:14 a.m.


Well, being offline doesn't agree with me. The home network went down friday night as we prepared to put in the flooring. We can't find the phone plate-looking piece that we need to get our dsl up and running again. So no internet at home.

Which is a bad thing. See, I've just joined the spark. And well, all the passwords I need are on my home computer - not in webmail but in already downloaded pop3 mail. It was my sunday to contribute a question to We Have Brains and well, the login page for that is at home, once again, in my pop3 downloaded mail. So I'll have to bug people today to send the info to my diaryland account - the webmail one - in the hopes of getting it all together at some point.

So how, may you ask, am I writing this now? Well, I'm at my parents house. The weekend has gone thusly: Friday, they removed the carpet from everywhere but the bedroom and studio. Saturday, they worked on the floor while the bookroom was being finished. Sunday, we were to tired from it all to do much but put major things back in the living room and put cds and movies on the shelf. The kitchen and downstairs area is a mess with things from the living room and boxes that the flooring came in. Which is the only good thing about not having internet - we have to tackle the stuff as opposed to mucking about online. However, with no internet, we've not been able to keep up with things such as collabs, communities and guestbooks signings. So, today is laundry day and I'm out at the parents house and taking full advantage of their internet. Hopefully I get to do even half of what I want to do!

The plan had been that friday, they'd get the carpet up, then saturday not only would the floor be done and the bookroom finished by supper time, but we'd spend the time after supper putting things back in the living room and getting that all set up. Then sunday, I'd post my topic, log into the sparkbios and the like (for which I thought I'd remembered the password, but I guess not) and write my papers that are, guess what, due on my webforum today. That would leave me free to do laundry monday or tuesday, depending on which day P. was off as we plan to go shopping. The floor was finished at 10:30 saturday night. Sunday, we were so very tired, we did not do much execept find out that P. is off today. However, I have to do laundry, but more importantly, get my assignments - official and non-official- done, as I have no assurance that we'll have internet in the next day or two.

But the floor looks fantastic. It's oak laminate and is beautiful. We're trying to cut down on things in the room so that it's not as loud in there and not as cluttered. It's going to be glossy white with a green window frame and navy blue blinds. With the oak flooring, it'll look fantastic. Pictures are coming, as D. took them throughout the long (and arduous) process.

I now just have to fight the cat for the chair in the bookroom. We've placed a chair from the living room in the bookroom. I wanted a wonderful chair and a half that I found at a local store, but it was 850$ - 550$ more than I had to spend (however, a great wakeup to the cost of good quality chairs!). However, the chair that is in there, Oliver the cat used to sit on in the living room. So when he found me in it, he kept looking around my to determine the best way in. And he found it. First, you scratch and bite the poster display board that the female-in-the-chair is keeping, then wait for her to explain to the male-in-the-living-room the shouts of 'Ollie! Don't!'. While she is out, jump in the chair. Conversely, you could also wait for her to finish her novel. Then, when she goes to put the book back on the shelf, jump in and curl up. It seems to work fine. We have a little control issue going on and I plan to win. Or at least, be able to sit down without much fighting. I've put his cat bed right next to the chair, so he does have somewhere soft if he so desires sitting.

Well, more later I'm sure. I like technology.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *