New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Apparently, I needed a mans help, 2002-11-19, 7:06 a.m.


It's amazing sometimes, what people can say to surprise you.

For example. Yesterday was cold and rainy. I went out to the (new!) car and there was something underneath it. After getting completely soaked trying to figure out what it was, I determined that it was the water guard at the front - it's like a long plastic piece that is under the car and keeps water from the radiator. It was still attached at one side - which I couldn't get undone. So, I went into school and got string - looking like a loony at the same time (yes, cold, wet, soaked and looking for string - it's not a great measure of sanity). I obtained string and went out to tie it up.

While crouched down, trying to get it tied up, I heard a car pass and then come back. It was one of the other teachers. I explained my prediciment and she said 'oh'. When I said I'd gotten the string inside she said 'wasn't there a man who could come out and help?'

Well, if I hadn't been so cold, I might have lost my jaw as it dropped to the ground. I replied 'I don't need a man!'. She said she would have. She got out and helped saying that she usually left that to the men because it's so fussy and particular. After it was fixed, I thanked her and we both went on our ways.

A man! I talked to D. about that coment and he couldn't understand it either. Well, that's not true. We could understand it but not fathom it. I told the teacher that I try to be able to do the fixing for the car since I'm the one who drives it. Anyone who drives a car should know how to fix little things on it. And they shouldn't need someone else to do it - male or female.

I am with D. because of who he is. He is the person I love - and he's male. That's secondary to the person he is. We don't divide things into male tasks and female tasks - we go on strengths. I am a better bog walker. He sews better. I cook better. He cleans better. We both can determine car problems, he can fix some better, others I attack. We're equal and not dependent on our genitals to determine how.

A man. I guess that could be the answer to some things. Maybe...


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *