New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Yet again, I don't measure up., 2001-11-05, 6:52 a.m.


The assembly is today. The full process has made me quite bitter.

See... Ok... I mentioned a project that I wanted to do to the Social Studies Department Head. He said 'oh, you can do the Remembrance Day Assembly this year'. No chance to say no, none to say yes, just a chance to look at him stupidly. Now, we've not had an assembly yet this year. I don't know how they do it. And I've not been to one in ages. So, this is a bit of a poser.

I call the legion and get that set up but generally put things off as I'm really busy. Hey! If I'm to busy for drama then this is also past, above and beyond. I do do some planning however. I talk to the band teacher about it. I talk to the VP about it. I try to get guest speakers. I get a copy of a little play that I could get some kids to do. So I don't totally put things off. People mention things in passing. I get a little legion booklet and some wall of Remembrance sheets. I get more and more worried.

Then things happen. I mention the play to the music teacher and how I want to do a power point behind it of images of war. A couple days later she comes in with one that a student made. She will have it behind a song. I am pissed.

I sit down with the music teacher, show her my plans, my order and what I want. She shows me a binder that she was given. It has the programs and the order and the everything from previous years. Something that I could have used. She and I sort some things out.

Yesterday I go to get the powerpoint sorted out. It is quite evident that this is now her assembly. Fine. They should have asked her to do it. They should not have gotten me to plan anything. I feel like I did very little that will be noted. I picked the readings, I got the minister and the guestspeaker, I got the legion. I made a general order. She put hours in with the music. She typed the program. She is making up the thank-yous. Now, this sounds like a co-operation execpt 1. I'm not getting a spirit of co-operation from her, but a 'oh, you're doing your little thing' feeling. And she's a nice person. Just so it doesn't seem like she's not. And 2. I feel left out. That what I did won't get the credit.

It's hard planning something when you don't know where things are, don't know what was done or what is expected. I could find some of it, but other things, never mentioned, never said, just assumed. Yes, I am complaining. But it's been a rough go of it.

I feel like this was a test and that I failed.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *