New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Memories of the day, 2001-11-17, 10:49 p.m.


Lego is wonderfully relaxing. I love how you can sit down and just put together something really neat out of blocks and shapes. Thanks Joleen for deeming me a collector. It's true you know - and made more true by us having all of the sets of Harry Potter Lego now. Whoohoo! 11 sets, some huge, some large, some medium, some small. All really neat. While they include the 'new' lego 'blocks' (longer, the size of many put together as one, as opposed to giving the pieces to put it together yourself), they have some amazing pieces. And they make some great lego sets. I made 'Snapes Classroom' and 'The Forbidden Corridor' today while D. worked on the school. Quite relaxing.

Today the movie was odd. We had tickets for the 12:00 show, so we went there just before 11. We got to the theatre and it wasn't open yet, but there was about 20 people waiting outside. We went and got some food and when we got back there was about 75. In the span of 15 minutes - if not less - 55 or so people showed up. The line went back past the ticket wicket. After we got in line, the line grew further and further back. It was interesting, standing in line like that. There was a little kid dressed like Harry Potter.

In the car I had said to D. that he should go get seats and I'd get the food. He kinda laughed at me. When we saw the 20 people, I mentioned it again, and he kinda laughed. When we came back with the 75 or so there he didn't laugh. So when the doors were opened he headed to cinema five, on the left. As did everyone else who'd bought tickets in advance. However, at the consession stand we saw everyone move to the right. Apparently they'd switched the theatres. Instead of being in five, D. was going to be in nine or ten. I got the food, begging for a kiddie Harry Potter cup and not getting one, and then heading out. Now, ever since the trip to see 'Loser' when I fell up the stairs, I have been careful about the stairs in the theatre. Going into nine to see if D. was there, I was careful. He wasn't there. On my way out, I nearly fell. I hit one foot off the back of the other. Would not have been good - I wouldn't even have stairs to blame it on! Going into ten, remembering that I'd already nearly fallen, I was careful, climbing the stairs to our seats. And no I didn't fall.

Watching the theatre fill up was amazing. People of all ages - mostly kids - there to see this movie. A kid from school was in front of us. He didn't notice me. The three of them, about 13 years old, talked computers while they waited. He's a kid I tell not to play with the phone when I'm on duty. I had to pee before the movie started - I swear I have the worlds smallest bladder!

When I came back, the previews had started. Settling into my seat, remembering that it was a 2 and 1/2 hour movie, I didn't drink much, but instead ate a LOT of popcorn. D went just before the movie got really good - the part with all the letters being shoved in, before Hagrid arrives. Apparently (as he was telling me later) there was a kid in the washroom terrified of the Monsters Inc. display (a life size version of the big blue monster). The kid swore he saw it moving. The dad was trying to convince him it didn't. Poor kid. Poor dad.

As I've said previously, the movie was great. The kids in the theatre were mostly really good - mesmerized by seeing their hero on screen I guess. The movie was funny and scary and sad - and most importantly - stuck to the book. It made me tear up at a few parts, mostly when Harry tried to remember or had contact with his parents. Parentless children make me cry.

The only thing that wasn't good about the experience was that I had to pee when there was about 45 minutes left. Have you ever had an ultrasound? Well... I've had two. At least two that needed a full bladder. And this was about the same intensity. Painful. We made our way out of the theatre at the end, me trying to get to a washroom and encountered hundreds of people. All waiting for the next showing. It's amazing what an attraction this movie is. And the variety of people going to see it. Perhaps it's the classic tale - a person, poorly off, finds (s)he is from a family of legends. I heard a DNTO discussion of this story and other fantasy after we left the theatre. Of course, this may not be it and it could be the magic of it all. The boyhood hero. Or just... that it's Harry Potter.

Sugarbug, I never saw you. How'd it go?

Must go and sleep. Or something. Just had to remember the day.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *