New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

I vote - I just don't like being forced to give name, rank and serial number, 2002-11-08, 6:53 a.m.


Last night, the voting registry people came. Well, person came. She needed to update the voters list.

Now, I vote. I believe strongly in voting. How can you work against what is happening in the world if you did not put in a vote to try to stop it in the beginning?

Anyway, this voting lady came at a time when I was trying to relax. I was lying down, I was very comfortable and I was relaxing. D. was in the shower. I also have to note that I don't like letting people into the house - I don't know anyone in this community and I don't trust anyone. A sad statement, but it's how I am.

Anyway, the doorbell rang. When I answered it, I kept the screen door closed. It was cold and rainy out. The lady out in the cold and rain told me, 'I'm updating the voters list - how many voters are there in your house?'. I said two, expecting the conversation to be over. She then let herself into my house and proceeded to ask me questions. Yes, she let herself in. She also didn't let me know that I could refuse to give this information or that I could ask her to come back later. During this interview, she asked if I knew my neighbours because she couldn't get into their yard and wanted me to call them. I don't know them.

When she left, I thought about it. Sure, I want to vote. But I can register at the polling station if need be - I have before. And how could she let herself into my house? And shouldn't they have a speech where they discuss what the information is being used for? And that I can refuse if I want? And asking me to call the neighbours? Not right.

I think I may call and complain. I know she is doing an important job. But her approach was horrid and I feel uncomfortable about it.

Can anyone who has done that job let me know what the procedures should be?


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *