New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Yay! Power has returned, 2003-01-19, 7:47 a.m.


The power went out last night. I put some raisin bread on to toast and as it dinged, the power went. It came on a second or two later, gave me time to butter my toast and went again. Then on then gone then on then gone. It was gone for a few hours then - I don't know how long as I fell asleep after an hour or so.

At our hour, a power outage sounds like the world is ending. We have about 7 computers that are running in various capasities. When the power goes out, they all power down. Imagine the sound your computer makes. Then imagine hearing that sound from seven computers, in the dark. It's a mighty loud sound.

I've determined that I wouldn't be able to live without electricity. Perhaps if I'd never had it, I'd be fine, but I couldn't do anythng yesterday. I couldn't even read, as we have one flashlight that we were saving in case the power was out for ages. I guess, in the 'olden days', they had candles and lanterns. And fire. I was frozen, from a mix of the power being out and suggestive thinking about the power being out.

By the way, the cat loved having the power out. It meant that he could sneak up on the garbage and try to get the old balogna out of it without us knowing. Someone should have told him that the lights were out, not the sound.

Now, to try to do some of the work that I meant to do last night...


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *