New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Rant from the car about Sexuality and Childrens curriculum based literature, 2003-06-05, 9:00 a.m.


I don't know if I've ever talked about my sexuality here. Or sexuality in general. I don't plan to really, execept to say that I don't assume anything and don't want people to assume anything about me. I don't assume because while it's an important part of someones life, it's none of my business until they make it my business. (well, execept for in one case years ago when we all knew that our highly depressed friend was gay from guarded comments and questions he'd state and we hoped that he'd be happier when he felt he could come out. He was). For me, when people assume, they're most likely wrong. So don't assume. About me or anyone.

However, while I don't discuss my sexuality, I do think about the children I might raise. And the conversations I might have with their teachers. We have a very heterosexist selection of books in our curriculum. And a selection of books for primary grades that is hetero family based. I would like to think I raise a child aware enough to be able to speak up about it. In fact, I want to be called by the teacher or get an angry note stating that my child used the term 'heterosexist' and questioned the reading material. I want my child to kickstart thinking in teachers.

Of course, I will be the cranky mother, but I don't care. In fact, I want to be able to say as a parent, instead of a peer, 'They were right in saying heterosexist. I'm proud that my four year old knows that term. And you know what? It is. Yes, I mean it. I want a change. I want the (at least) ten percent of the population that is not heterosexual represented. No, that's not teaching about sex. It's teaching about family life. And, if we don't start teaching that it's normal family life now in their lives, they'll grow up thinking it isn't. It will be embedded in them from this early age and they will feel shame in feelings they might have because you and others like you make it not normal. Present the world, not your version of it.'

I don't know why I think that people will listen to me more as a parent as opposed to a teacher. But I suspect they will. And if I can change the curriculum or at least the reading selection for a classroom, then I'll be thrilled.

Ah, the things I think about in the car.


(1 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *