New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Movies in Newfoundland, 2002-02-02, 11:12 a.m.


I'm going to 'Rare Birds' today. It's another movie set in Newfoundland and Labrador. Actually, it began shooting around the time of the Womens Film Festival 2000, when they showed 'Bingo Robbers' as their opening film. I remember William Hurt had just come into town and they joked that his lights were on, hoping that he was there so that we could indulge in his celebrity. I may post a review, but chance are, unless you're a Canadian you won't see it as it's not being released anywhere but Canada. And if you're a Canadian, you already think we're a dumb, yet sexually satisfied fishing nation so you may not go see it. That was a bit of a stereotype of Canadian thinking and I apologize. I just know from relatives that have had to move to the mainland, as well as comments made in mainstream television that Newfoundland and Labrador is looked down upon. That is the loss of those that think that way.

The province is hoping that the movies highlighting our province will make people think better of us. 'The Shipping News' sparked a negative reaction from many Newfoundlanders as it was gloomy and portrayed us as barbarians. Well, not quite, but we are sensitive to those matters, and quite often take negative portrayals personally. We have to realize that story was universal - the setting and the healing came from Newfoundland and Labrador. Random Passage is apparently beautiful and Rare Birds is funny. As we can no longer fish, we are hping that people will come here and spend money. Tourism is our new industry. Movies like the three shot here are our product, we are what we're selling.

I don't know where I'm going with this. I guess, I just think it's great there are so many films shot here. Yet, we're clinging to them to save and promote our province in a desparate and needy way, in hopes that they will bring back all of those who had to move away to find work.

I think we have to realize that we cannot base our lives on one industry. We have to develop them all, putting money into education, health care and other industries that are losing jobs and funding year after year. Perhaps tourism will allow us to do that.

Perhaps not.

I think it's exciting that people I know who have never been to Newfoundland will see where I live. I'm excited that Kevin Spacey really likes it here and that Judi Dench was here. I can't wait to see 'Rare Birds' because it looks funny. I loved 'The Shipping News'. 'Random Passage' is a great book and the onscreen version of it, from the commercials, looks lush and honest. It just worries me that we pin everything on these films.

We are a province of disapointment so very often. I don't want to see us disappointed again.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *