New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Reviews and Browsers, 2001-10-22, 6:37 a.m.


You know what bugs me? That Diary Reviews doesn't require that the diaries they review be viewable in both IE and Netscape. IE is a much kinder, gentler browser(all other issues about it aside, it is a browser that allows the viewing of so many more html goodies). While this means that people have been able to get lazy with their designing, as IE not only allows them to add so much more, but also mess up their code a little and still have the page display correctly, it still allows people to do pages that are neater.

Enter my rant on Diary Reviews. I check it out often, just to see what is being reviewed and how it looks. There are some beautiful sites reviewed. And sites that have some really neat elements. In IE. When you open them in Netscape, they look like crap. Or you can't navigate. Or whatever.

And don't get me wrong! I think that Diary Reviews is neat. As I said, I look at the site often. I like that they are doing that work. The reviewers have a sense of humour and know their stuff. This is not personal. It's just a rant brewing.

Now, when I was doing my site and the two that I've designed for people, I checked them in both browsers. And when I almost designed my site in IE only, I listened to someone who reads here sometimes and can only use Netscape. I realized that I was going against my first rule of HTML - Make it work for all as much as possible. I don't design pages that don't work in other browser, and it feels weird to remember that I almost did. And it wasn't that much harder. I just found a different code. Put more attention into the details of HTML.

This is a diary. And others may read it. If you are going to go through the trouble of making it online and available, make sure that people can read it. Just because.

Which is where diary reviews comes in. There are so many designs that get really great marks from them that don't work in Netscape. Not that I begrudge marks. Or think that the site aren't good. But, as someone looking at design, it's frustrating seeing that sites that don't work in both main browsers are lauded as great design. Heck, the sites I've been doing you can view in Lynx. I'm not suggesting that that be a standard!

It's not that diary reviews is the be all and end all in website reviews. Or that meeting their expectations means that you are the best of the best. I mean recently a template got high marks! But the sites that do get high marks for the most part are good. And, as I said, the reviewers know their stuff. And, they seem to have become a bit of an institution. However, this is just a little thing that has been growing in me lately as I continue to view sites reviewed by them.

Perhaps I'll write them. Suggest they add a category for a few marks. 'Viewable in both main browsers'. Or not.

 

Note: Edited a little when reread after consuming coffee


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *