New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

School and Work and lots of books, 2003-02-28, 6:46 a.m.


Wednesday felt like thursday. Thursday felt like friday. Friday nights we usually fall asleep in the living room. Last night - thursday - we fell asleep in the living room. Woke up at 3:30 and went to bed. Which means that it was two hours before I had to get up and well, I'm tired. I hate that. But tonight is friday night and while D. has to do overtime this weekend, it's ok because I think I'll stay home on Sunday. So it all works.

Tomorrow, while D. is at work, I'm going to the library. I have to write two papers this term. I'm doing one on the Culture of my school, with a focus on girls and their percieved place in the school, the community and the future. My other paper is on Technology programs for girls. I need to do some preliminary research and while I have loads already, I need to focus on finding some regarding working class environments. My goal is to say that we need more resources for this group (I am a learning resource teacher!) and that we need more societal supports. Equal is not the same and it shows. Added to that, perceptions that these students have of their futures are bleak - or at least, perceptions that they feel others have of their futures. So I want to investigate this further. Anyone out there have anything suggestions on works that could be good to read?

I bought 1000$ worth of books yesterday. Well, 1002$ actually. It was quite fun. Not for me, unfortunately, but for the school library. I recieved a grant that I had to spend by the end of the month. So I did. It took me four tries to get up to 1000$. First, I picked out 462$ worth. Then, when I went back, I had an additional 20% discount, so the second trip got me 600$ worth. The third basket brought me to 730$ I think, and then I was up to 1002$. I've also ordered 500$ worth of books. And 778$ worth of books from the voucher from my book fair. That's a lot of cataloguing. I don't really like cataloguing, so it's going to be quite a task. But I have three boxes of books in my car and that's a great thing. The kids will love it!

Now, to get to work and get them out there!


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *