New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

I just want to say so much, 2002-09-18, 7:02 a.m.


Damn, I just had an entry half written and hit my knee off my machine. Hilarity and computer-locking-upness ensues.

Basically I'm trying to sort out an assignment. It has to be about a teaching and learning problem we have faced. We don't need a solution - this is discouraged, actually - but we do need to have an idea on how it impacts on teaching and learning.

I wrote my prof and mentioned I'd like to do something on the warnings I recieved on being a young, new, female teacher. New teachers get a tough time, but more than that, new female teachers. When I enter a room people know two things - I'm female and I'm young. There has to be some impact on learning if this specification that female teachers have to be wary can be stated - respect issues for one. With that, I want to segway into male and female learning patterns.

My solution has been to present myself as what I am - interested and proficent in traditionally male and female activities. This has gained some respect from male students. But do they learn differently if they are able to relate to me? Well, I teach differently if I can relate to the students in some way. Not much differently, but I know more about the students and can thus change my approch at least a little.

Watching 'O' and thinking about those issues made me want to look at those as well in this presentation. I'd like to include lyrics from Eminem and Pink as versions on how boys and girls face pain (I'd like to add a broadway like 'in song!' at the end of that statement :)It's just figuring out how to include everything I want to include.

That is the task for the day. Well, that, working, meet the teacher and hopefully getting some sleep soon. Any suggestions?


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *