New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Scary nights and talking pigs, 2002-01-23, 3:13 p.m.


And it's another snow day. Holy goodness. I find it amazing that we're out of school for two days. The timeing might have been better - it could have been after exams, or at least, selfishly, after my exams were written so I could have time to do correcting.

But still, it's two days off. D. and I watched 'Kiss the Girls' yesterday. Great movie. Very psychological. Around 3 last night I woke up. Our back door was shaking in the wind. It sounded as though someone was trying to come in. Not waiting to wake D., I go check it out, Olliecat by my side. It's just the door. No psycho guy is there, waiting to capture me and put me in his collection. Of course, for the hour that followed, I kept checking the door, scared to death. There's a reason I don't generally watch thrillers. Especially ones involving someone coming into their victims home. I am such a baby and a scaredy-cat.

Anyway.. to make things worse, around 5:00am the power went out. One of our phones rings when the power goes out, so I was woken up. It was out for a few minutes and then back for a few and then out again. With the door still banging and no light at all I had to wake up D. Again, I'm such a baby.

We skulked around for a bit, finding flashlights and batteries for the walkman, and went back to bed. Having D. awake made things much less scary. We listened to the radio for a while and found out that the blizard was continuing and that schools were closed for the day. D. decided that with no power and with so much wind and blowing everything that he couldn't go in this morning. He is in now. So we watched 'Along came a spider', which is the sequal to 'Kiss the Girls', kinda. Much less psychological than the first one. Thank goodness. I wouldn't be able to handle another night like last - especially if there's school.

I've decided that I'm controling but have some inferiority. Yesterday, when I went to get D. from work, it was scary and slow going to drive. But I did it. However, I got stuck coming out of the drive way and stuck going in. All the men (for yes, it is only men who shovel around here) saw it. I felt they were thinking 'Damn women drivers'. Now, I am a womyn driver, yes. But so what. I made it in and back in my old car. I did it and I was good at it. But this one incident makes me feel so little, so sterotypically bad-sexist joke female. How am I controling? Well, I must do everything. I think it's needing to be self reliant. Knowing I can manage by myself. So I worked just as hard as any of those men - if not harder - making sure the driveway was shoveled perfectly. D. worked with me and we made it fantastic. That's my project for this year - a perfect shoveled out driveway. I think I'd be out there all the time if D. didn't convince me to come in. It's weird, the things that the mind thinks and feels. On the one hand, one small act can make me small, on the other, I'm so big I can do any big task. I think one makes the other survive and thrive.

Has anyone ever heard of Insulin resistance? If so, tell me about it.

A friend just sent me this. Keehee!

    First Grade... true story.

    One day the first grade teacher was reading the story of the Three Little Pigs to her class.
    She came to the part of the story where the first pig was trying to accumulate the building materials for his home. She read, "And so the pig went up to the man with the wheelbarrow full of straw and said, 'Pardon me sir, but may I have some of that straw to build my house?'"
    The teacher paused then asked the class, "And what do you think that man said?"
    One little boy raised his hand and said, "I think he said 'Holy Fuck ...a talking pig!'"

    The teacher was unable to teach for the next 10 minutes.

This is what teaching is. Full of talking pig moments.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *