New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Ice and wind, but still there is school, 2003-02-24, 6:55 a.m.


There's a freezing rain warning and a wind warning. I wonder if we'll have school today. Most likely. THat's silly. If ice is falling from the sky and wind is whiping it around, chances are the roads are crap. Which puts the drivers and kids in harms way. It's the storm that was up on the mainland this past weekend. Just so you know.

The radio people are going around talking about school informatin. Which means we're open. I think that's silly. I get to risk my life to drive around icy roads. Yes, it will clear up a bit later this morning, only to change to blowing snow and winds later this afternoon - when I'm leaving. Sure, I could live right next to the school and walk there, but I should not be required to do so. Nor should the children be required to. That's what should be taken into account when making this decision in the morning.

Perhaps this is why there should be more placed online. Students would still be required to do the work for the day, and can access it by downloading the worksheets and lesson plans. Teachers would have worked for that day by already preparing and placing everything online. Yes, it requires teachers using the online format, but if it's part of the job and it's a new learning technique then teachers should realize that it's part of the job they signed up for.

Well, I guess I should start to get ready and heat up the car. And deice it to try to get in. So, de-icing first, then starting. Otherwise it makes no sense.

Beh.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *