New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Second hand book shopping, 2002-03-16, 7:10 p.m.


Second hand book stores rock. They rock my skateboarding monkey socks. Why?

Well.. last night I went to chapters. I wanted 'Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood' by Rebecca Wells as I wanted to OWN it (I read it when I borrowed it from my mom). It was 20.00 (minus my 10% for being a chapters one member). I also wanted 'Priestess of Avalon' by Marion Zimmer Bradley. That one was 27.00. Needless to say, I got neither as money is tightish. Instead we made the decision to go second hand book store shopping today.

And boy did we. We went to several, some old favourites, some newer ones. We found out one was closed down - the one that'd had all the degrassi books and the old playboys. We also found two very new ones. We didn't go downtown because of the weather and parking. But we shopped. I even got a discount at one store as one of the interns at school works there :)

And I got seven books. SEVEN. How much? Well, 8.50 at one store, 27.00 at another. What did I get? Well, I'm glad you asked. I got:

    Primary Colours by Anonymous for 4.40. It looked interesting and I've seen part of the movie.
    Cat's Eye by Margaret Atwood for 4.50. This book is a favourite that mom wouldn't let me take when I moved out. Something about it being hers.
    Wifey by Judy Blume for 1.90. Just because it was cheap and I'd read some of her other adult books.
    First Wives Club by Oliva Goldsmith for 4.00. Because I liked the movie
    Patriot Games by Tom Clancey for 4.00. I got this one because when we flooded and the book got covered with sewer water I threw it out.
    Scarlett Feather by Maeve Binchy for 10.00. It was the big soft cover version (the kind they put out instead of hard cover) that was the same edition as the one I lost in the flood. Yes, I lost many books in the flood.
    Divine Secrets of the YaYa Sisterhood by Rebecca Wells. Yes, the one I was going to buy last night. And in perfect condition. For how much? 9.90. Yes, that does rock.

So yes, second hand bookstores rock.

BTW.. the answer to the triva yesterday was Janis Joplin.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *