New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Skateboarding, 2003-04-22, 10:01 p.m.


I've figured out something about myself. Well, I've known it for a while, but it has stepped up and totally reminded me.

I hate learning things I'm not good at right away. Anything I can do right away, I go on and learn more and more about. Anything else, I don't learn the fundamentals.

That's why I don't know flash.

Of course, it's also why I'm so frustrated lately. We're skateboarding more now - I even bought a pair of old school converse sneakers (well, new style retro styled converses). I'm totally ready to learn how to skateboard and be a skater womyn.

Execept I suck at it. Big time.

Part of this is my board. Apparently the trucks are too tight so I can't turn. Which means that I go in jagged lines back and forth, having to jump off every now and then because it's either jump or fall. But I can't go for distances. I can't do much. I can crab walk a little. But I can't do anything on it.

I will learn. I have to break this horrid trend of giving up when it's a pain to learn. At least it's not when it's hard to learn. It's when it's a pain to learn. And skateboarding is a pain. But I want to know how to do it. So I will learn.

In other news, I know I got a 90 in one of my courses. I'm pleased. I might try to change my concentration in my masters, but I'm not sure. I'm just glad to be getting good marks in courses I enjoy. It's that good at it, learn as much as possible bit. Now I need to get a 90 in skateboarding!


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *