New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Wanted: Space of my own, 2002-11-13, 6:48 a.m.


I got glue in my hair yesterday. Yes glue.

Students in the younger grades need to work on the concept of glueing.

It's amazing the infighting and the petty stuff that happens in schools. Just little things. Like the schedule for the LRC. Or the fact that to improve the schedule, I'm moving to my office. I'm going to train volunteers to check out books in the morning and at lunch and make the desk the circulation machine. Which means that people may not have access to the phone as much as I'll be using my office. It also means that the LRC will be more presentable as my work won't be everywhere as I work away. The phone is more of an issue apparently. Sure it's a school line but it's my phone - someone told me the phone isn't the issue, it's the convinence, but damn. People can use it, but I need my office and I need it to be able to lock because I'm going to bring a home computer in. Sometimes that has to be done. I need my space, much as anyone does. I guess I just feel very intruded upon. I have to do this. If I don't, I won't get work done. People assume that when they come in and I'm at the computer then I'm not working. Or, when I have the place booked so that I have space to work, people come in and use it - they don't need me but want the space. I need to be able to close the door and get work done. And, there is a phone downstairs in the staff room and another in a little office off the copy room. There may be more as well. One of the worst offenders said that there were lines upstairs. I suggested she bring in a phone. If there are other ways to have phones up there, why use just mine.

This all being said, I can't rock the boat to much. But I can claim my own space. It has to be done.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *