New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Tips for School or a Slighly sugarhigh teacher rant, 2001-08-29, 8:37 a.m.


There are a million things that I should be doing. I should be reading and rereading the new curriculum outcomes and guides so that I know more about what I have to do in a week (a week!). I should be reading good literature. I should be designing my homework page and working on finding a good way to teach 'The Pearl'. But what am I doing? Working on a Harry Potter page and my personal homepage. And writing here. Ah well. In the end, what does it all matter? Chances are I'll have spent the right amount of time on everything by the time that it matters. Even if that time is an all-nighter. Or A until-11:30er as I doubt that I could pull an all-nighter. Oh the joys of always being tired.

Some tips for those going back to school.

  1. In group work, there will almost always be someone who whines about not getting the group together enough then doesn't do their part of the work. Sometimes, they will also whine that they don't feel their contributing enough, promise to do something and then skip out on it. Don't be that person.
  2. There are people who will brag about the time they spent working on something - especially if you worked on it the night before. Yet, while the 'night before' makes it sound like you are a slacker and unorganized you are not. You most likely managed your time better, had an outline worked out days before and started writing knowing what you were going to say, writing based on that one idea. They have had time to waffle on their position and while they may have also followed an outline have had time to doubt what they are saying. You have the more polished product. They have something that they didn't feel commited enough to work on in one block. Yours is a slightly rambling, yet consise and focused work. Theirs was proofread withing an inch of its life, yet lacks personality and spirit. Yours was written with a goal. Theirs was broken up in to so many parts when they were writing it that they have presented a work in sections that may not have much to do with each other. Who is going to do better? This is the unsure part of it all. It depends on the teacher. And the assignment. But noone should ever tell you that you are wrong in devoting a chunk of time to work on something, as opposed to breaking up your time.
  3. You may become committed to a work. Becoming committed means that you will spend days at it. I have had this happen a few times - my first english curriculum unit, my pop culture website and writings, my radio website, my culture journal. This is an amazing feeling. Treasure it.

I miss having work that I'm enthused about. I miss my pop culture class. I miss my english methods class. I miss work that I could commit to and research, read, write. I don't miss group work. I miss being myself and being rewarded for it. Yes, its only been a few weeks. But I think that in my soul, I am an academic. Its just new as I've never been one before. I think I've found where I should be. And recieving encouragement is wonderful. Knowing that people think that I'm doing well. Being accepted as an authority on something. Being myself and having people praise it instead of putting it down. Maybe its not university I miss but compliments. No, I think I want to attend classes again. I miss the discussions and the debates. I've noticed I've been talking to myself a lot more lately. I think that that has something to do with it.

Or maybe I'm crazy.

Of course, why would that matter? I've been crazy for a while and still notice an increase in my talking to myself moments. Ah well.

This makes no sense. If anyone is actually reading this, I apologize. I think it's been a two much sugar kind of morning.

But admit it, in your heart of hearts, you agree with me on the working on things the night before......


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *