New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Taxes, 2003-03-01, 7:57 p.m.


I did my taxes.

I decided to file by phone because it's quick and I'd get my refund quicker. I started the process at the end of the last entry. I finished watching 'Sense and Sensibility' with the commentary and put it on again, without the commentary. I started to telefile, and hung up two or three times. I filled it out with last years tax software and gave up when I realized how different the numbers were. I finally sat down with the forms and a calculator and did it all up. I had two sources of income - teaching salary and EI. I had student loan repayments and tuition. I had to fill in general, federal and provincial. Those were my only concerns.

I messed up a few times, not knowing line numbers and paniced. Then I filled it all in, saying no to all the provincial amounts and then, accidently hanging up before I got my confirmation number (right after they said they had all the information). Then I called back, realizing that I didn't have a number and that yes, I should have put provincial information. Then I hung up to calculate the provincial information. Then when I called, I'd made to mnay false attempts and was locked out. So I had to call the helpdesk.

Finally I called it in and had it accepted. If my calculations are correct, I should get enough back to pay tuition for a few terms. If I'm not correct, at least I am getting some back. And it's done.

Now I just have D.'s to do but that's not so bad. In fact, if I could find his T4 I'd do it now and get it done.

Taxes are like a puzzle. They're very logical and very inflexible. I sure hope that I lived up to their demands.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *