New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

The line, 2002-09-08, 3:50 p.m.


As you know, I got new clothing yesterday. I showed them off today to my mom and sister, exclaiming over them, mixing and matching and prompting some decisions in purchaces for them as well.

It's amazing the difference that a few months makes. I would not have been able to have that shopping trip a few months ago. Losing weight has been good in that way. I could try on things and discard them because they didn't suit me as opposed to their not fitting. It was really good that way. I could check out the cheaper sections and the sales and find my size. But I've been thinking about one encounter I had.

One skirt that I bought, I choose two sizes - a larger one and the one that I eventually bought. There was three dollars difference in the prices - the bigger one being more expensive than the smaller. When I asked, apparently it was mislabled, and both were the same price. She made the comment that if it was in their 'image' sizes then it would be acceptable, but since it wasn't they should be the same price. I agreed and tried on my clothes.

This however got me thinking. I understand that image sizes (or, as they are more commonly known, plus sizes) use more fabric, thus are more expensive. At least that's my understanding. But why? A size 14 uses more fabric than a size 2 but they are the same price. Yes, if it is a completely different style, there could be a difference - either way really. But what is with that magical line between 14/15 and 16/17 that causes a hike of 3 or 4 dollars for the same item?

When I lived in England for a summer, I had to buy tampons. I had very little money and had to budget. I ended up getting the regular ones because the super ones were more expensive. People told me this was normal - that we do that in Canada as well. But we don't. They are the same price. I can't help wanting super tampons. The same way that if I had to get an 'image size' I wouldn't be able to help that. Why is bigger more expensive? Who sets that line and why do we say that it's ok?

This is all a ramble. I know that this ramble won't change anything but I had to ramble it. I don't like the line. I don't like that it's there or that it is accepted. What was so horrid about my wanting to clothe myself a few months ago that I had to pay more for it? Yes, I'm lighter now and am much healthier and all of that. But that was a choice for me. Not for the clothing industry. And no I've never bought plus size, but the idea that I may have to did keep me from shopping. Which it shouldn't have, but that's size issues for you. It amazes me that we accept that line. From one who has teetered on it, that sucks. Royally.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *