New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Tired but happy, 2002-03-21, 3:22 p.m.


Tired. So very tired. But professionally happy. I just got back from the Multicultural Fair Global Village at the Holiday Inn. It's great to go to these things, pick up information and know that you have something that will add to your work place and your job.

But I am so very tired. And I want to continue my entry on language but need time to think. I will, hopefully without her minding, post what I put in Pam's guestbook.

    "I have to agree that it is good that some words have lost their power and have returned to being just words, but I do think that often, powerful words are being used with little or no comprehension of their power - or discarded because students do not wish to understand their power. To use 'Gay' as an insult could affect the self perception of any students at this age questioning their sexuality. 13 and 14 year olds who are beginning to realize (or are beginning to have a name for) their sexuality will not come out if they know that to their classmates 'gay' means bad. Homophobia is rampant and is exhibited first with insults such as that, then further with additional comments. Yet students don't understand the power of what they are saying. Other powerful words such as 'feminist' are being discarded with students (and others, but I'm speaking specifically of schools) fearing to claim them as their own. I guess what I'm saying is that in making some words 'just words', we are also allowing powerful words to become lesser and to be corrupted and take on e a more powerful yet negative stance. But that's just my view on it. "

Pam, if you mind me putting it here, let me know. And I would love to discuss this via e-mail.

Tired. Must do more work. Bah.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *