New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Two Years, 2004-08-25, 8:22 a.m.


Two years and fourty-one days ago, D. made a simple comment to me - 'Let's get married'. He meant in a year or two. I said really and planned the wedding for fourty-one days later.

It was the little wedding that EI bought, paid for in many ways by the wedding gifts and my EI that I was recieving, on top of my holdback pay (replacement teachers can do that - recieve EI in the summer while getting their holdback pay, as holdback pay is not really payment but instead heldback from your regular paycheque so that you recieve one all year round). My dress was the most expensive part of it that we paid for - my parents bought all the food.

It took place out at my parents house, in their garden. I was surrounded by Delias and Daisies. My sister A. and D.s brother d. attended us, while my brother was the Master of Ceremonies. We had the reception in the house where we ate ham and scalloped potatoes, as well chicken breast and broccoli. We had an amazing cake for dessert - chocolate on the bottom, vanilla in the middle, fruitcake on the top. It had very creamy white icing in it, with each tier decorated with a blue ribbon around the bottom, daisy candies around the sides, and silver balls and daisies on the top. We froze the top and ate it at P.s party a few weeks ago. Mom made it and cursed the pillers between each layer. It never totally stood up and we only kept the top (and heaviest) layer on it when needed. We made a lego cake topper (found here) the night before.

The day before, we bonded over the putting up of a tent. It took hours and had us, at one point, contemplating if we should just burn the thing and how much it would cost to replace it. The idea that someone might have it booked for the monday stopped us. It was needed as the skies threated rain all through the wedding (but didn't deliver until half and hour afterwards, thank goodness). We shot off fireworks the evening of the tent, but had to wait to shoot off the rest of them as the night of the wedding had a huge rain storm (if it had been a little bit colder, it would have been a blizzard).

We spent the night at a hotel. I had to back our rental car up the very steep, very curved parking garage entry when the machine ran out of tickets and wouldn't let us in. I still have scared thoughts about that every time I pass it.

Our wedding was beautiful and married life hasn't been bad either. We have our fights (hell, we made each other cranky last night) but we have our wonderful moments as well. And now a baby. And memories of a beautiful wedding that accompany us through our lives together. Life is good and was before and after the wedding, marriage is great and P. is fantastic.

Happy anniversary D., even though I know you don't read this. I love you.

ETA the song we danced to:

Ben Folds - The Luckiest

I don't get many things right the first time
In fact, I am told that a lot
Now I know all the wrong turns, the stumbles and falls
Brought me here

And where was I before the day
That I first saw your lovely face?
Now I see it everyday
And I know

That I am
I am
I am
The luckiest

What if I'd been born fifty years before you
In a house on a street where you lived?
Maybe I'd be outside as you passed on your bike
Would I know?

And in a white sea of eyes
I see one pair that I recognize
And I know

That I am
I am
I am
The luckiest

I love you more than I have ever found a way to say to you

Next door there's an old man who lived to his nineties
And one day passed away in his sleep
And his wife; she stayed for a couple of days
And passed away

I'm sorry, I know that's a strange way
to tell you that I know we belong
That I know

That I am
I am
I am
The luckiest


(1 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *