New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Unit I'm planning, 2002-02-13, 8:46 a.m.


OOoooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh..........I wish I were an oscar mayer weiner...

Or not really. I'm just tired and silly.

MMMmmmm... coffee.

I'm making up a unit on boundaries. Well, that's what it's called because there used to be a unit entitled boundaries in the grade 8 curriculum and the name stuck. It should now be titled something else me thinks. There will be 8 centers or so - Learning, Mental and Physical disabilities (one each), Home, School and Society (all one), Gender, Sexuality, Date Rape/Dating Violence. I may break gender into two - Expectations of Masculinity and Femininity in the Media and Body Image, Gender and Advertising. Or something like that. It just seems like there are two activities I would like to do with that topic. Of course, I've not started on the sexuality one either, but that will quite likely also be the case - wanting to do more in the center. It's not much, but it's a start. Children are so homophobic. Well, people in general are. But children in my class seem so very homophobic. They use 'Gay' as an insult and feel the idea of a gay person hitting on them is horrific. As you know, it's bad to be gay and every gay person is attracted to everyone of their sex. At least that's their belief. Which, btw, is what I'm trying to change - that belief is one that I fight against. I've tried to explain to them that being gay is not a bad thing - that 10% of the population is out. There is, most likely, more of the population that is gay and afraid to come out. And that just as they are not attracted to every opposite sex person they see, gay people aren't attracted to every same sex person they see. I've even added (on occasion) that they're rather conceited to think that someone would automatically be attracted to them because of their gender. Doesn't quite work though. Hopefully this will help they realize a few things. It may not. I'm just tired of the crap that they say and their beliefs. If you look at the statistic, there could be 3 gay people in their class. How do those children feel, now starting to figure out their sexuality in a sea of homophobia and hatred? Arg. I want to let them know it's ok.

And now... to work!

note - edited on february 17th when I noticed mistakes in grammar and statements.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *