New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

What I'm wearing tomorrow, 2003-02-27, 8:25 p.m.


I am the t-shirt queen.

The students have noticed. I wear t-shirts on fridays for casual day. Sometimes I wear them during the week. They wondered why I was wearing my Wizard of Oz one when I'd worn it before. A grade one said to me when, on the day of our Valentines assembly, I wore my 'I my geek' shirt, "Miss, you have a different t-shirt for every day!". I like t-shirts and I try to get different ones that I can wear.

My brother in law knew this and for Christmas he gave me a shirt. It has Mr. Rogers on it and says 'You are Special'. I've not worn it to school because it's really big on me - a t-shirt rather than a fitted one. It's white shirt with red ringer neck and sleeve bottoms.

I intend to wear it tomorrow. That was his message - that you were - and are - special. Because you are. He wanted people to know this.

I was more of a Mr. Dressup girl myself. Mr. Rogers came on a channel that I didn't have so I saw him only while on vacation. But they were the same. They were two very caring men who wanted children to be happy and healthy. Mr. Dressup died and I cried. But I knew Mr. Rogers was still around - even if he wasn't my childhood, he was childhood to so many. The world felt safer and nicer as long as one of them were around.

And now they're gone. But I shall wear his message - the message of both of them - tomorrow to work. Children here may or may not know what happened. But they will know that they are special. Because they are.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *