New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Wedding Stuff, 2002-07-26, 8:59 p.m.


I've never been one of those girly girls. My dad said to me today that he thought I'd marry in jeans. I have loads of lipgloss, but only one (recently aquired) lipstick. For my high school grad, I got my makeup done at the Body Shop so that I could support a charity (you don't pay, you donate to a choosen charity) and ensure I had very little makeup on. My hair is the thing I pay the most attention to, and I've not coloured it for months.

But today... today. I went wedding dress shopping. They are quite expencive. But past that... they're girly. They're things which make you princess like, no matter how anti-girly you may be. I have a couple on hold - we just have to figure out how I can pay for them without ruining our simple, elegant but not that expencive wedding.

I suspect however that the wedding industry hates womyn. I mean loathes womyn. For one, dresses are in obscenely weird sizes. Nothing in my current size fit. NOTHING. A size bigger than it kinda fit. Those that I could zip up have to be taken out. The size bigger is either far to big or just a little big. The size bigger than that is far to big, but in the same way that the size below it is to big. The dresses I have on hold need altering. They're for tall people. Not short girls. The dresses my sister tried on are the same. Sizes larger than she usually wears were far to small. Now, I know size is just a number. But when shopping for your wedding day, within all of that stress, you shouldn't worry about sizes. If anything, if they're going to mess with you, they should do it in the opposite direction. I should be trying on size 8 wondering how it could fit rather than squeezing into something twice that size. Ya know?

That and the shoes... don't get me started on the shoes. I think I need to find some sparkly docs.

I will be wearing my mothers veil however. I can't fit into her dress - I can't even get my hands into the sleeves. But her veil... yay.

Enough wedding stuff. But expect more....

Oh, for those who didn't highlight the part at the end of my last entry... I'm getting married!


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *