New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

A bad class, 2001-12-20, 9:55 a.m.


I hate it when I plan a lesson that could be fun and students ruin it. I had a lesson on choral speaking and working together planned. And they complained that the poem wasn't the real version (it was a different version of 'Twas the Night before Christmas'). Oh well - that was so that they would pay attention to what was being said (and because that's the version I found). I was then going to get them to do some choral jumping. Yes, I know, not everyone enjoys jumping. But it's good for learning to work together. And I said 'don't jump to hard - there are classes below us'. And so one kid did. And I said 'fine. You go sit' and I called in the person who had been sitting. He then stomped his way over, jumping loudly and generally being rude and loud. So I got everyone to sit. It was just so frustrating - having something planned, wanting it to go well and having people ruin it for everyone delibratly. And these are some of my favourite kids.

I hate that this makes me mad. Hate that it bothers me. I wish they'd been nice about it all. They think that they can just ruin a class and it won't bother me. That I won't care. But I do. And it hurts.

Please, if you are a student, recognize that a teacher has to do their work. They have a job. No it is not to make you miserable. It is to follow a government outline and teach you. Everything they do, for the most part, is geared to giving you an education and meeting this outline. Sometimes it may be fun. When they make it fun, appreciate that they had to try harder for that. And if it doesn't seem fun to you, but different and not what you wanted, realize that they're trying. And that what's fun for you is not what suits others. And vice versa.

I made them write parodies of 'Twas the night'. They could work in groups - all but those two students.

Bah humbug.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *