New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Book Cycles, 2002-01-21, 6:29 a.m.


It feels like ages since I did a proper update. I did write one the other night and the computer froze up. But between work and shoveling and sleeping and reading, I've not had a chance to sit down and type.

My cat is meowing like mad. He's been doing that since around ten to six. I've just given him a mouse and hopefully that will stop the meowing. It's actually quite loud and he makes it sound like he's about to get sick because he knows that gets me running. He'll then jump at me. Silly boy. He seems to be better now - I can hear him trying to get his mouse out of the box he just batted it into.

Supervising exams today. Yay. This week is going to be different - it's all exams. Well, the mornings are exams, the afternoons are classes, but noone stays. I need to go in early and find out all the details on this all - what about recess duty, how do we get the exams, mine are photocopied, right? Those kinds of things.

I've been reading a lot lately. And I can see the connections in the works. I started out with 'The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood', by Rebecca Wells. I then moved onto 'Bridget Jones and the Edge of Reason' by Helen Fielding. Why? Well, 'Divine Secrets' is about a disfunctional souther family. Having watched the 'Bridget Jones' DVD recently, it seems right to move to disfunctional quirky british womyn. Then, another disfunctional quirky british womyn was on the list, 'Jemimia J' by Jane Green. From that, I needed some teenage angst and since I wanted to see a movie of 'Jemimia J' (which is not made or considered), I moved onto a book aobut a movie I saw recently, 'The Princess Diaries' by Meg Cabot. I then continued with the girls having to deal with problems but suriviving. So it was 'Dicey's Song' and 'Seventeen against the dealer' by Cynthia Voight, 'Girl' by Blake Nelson. Because of the movie connection, which for some reason appears in my head when I'm making transitions, I then started on the southern womyn again. 'Where the Heart Is' by Billie Letts, 'Fried Green Tomatos at the Whistle Stop Cafe' by Fannie Flagg, and to complete the cycle (as it is a cycle), 'Little Alters Everywhere' by Rebecca Wells, the prequel to 'Divine Secrets'. Where to next? Since Siddalee started directing in New York, I may move to 'A girls guide to hunting and fishing' by Melissa Bank. Or start that one after 'Girl, Interrupted' by Suzanna Kaysen. Which of course will lead to 'She's Come Undone' by Wally Lamb.

Of course, I've read other things at the same time. And this is since my parents visited in January, so that's why there's not that many books. But I love reading.

Now I must go get my cat from whining. I swear that boy is 75% lungs!


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *