New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Breast Feeding, 2004-07-29, 8:22 p.m.


I make milk - what's your super power?

I read that on a bulletin board the other day and have been quoting it ever since. I think I want it on a t-shirt.

I am a breastfeeding mother. It's interesting - my breast have become as useful as my arms - more so even as my arms are not the nurishment containers for a small human. I don't care who sees it now, but do worry about their comfort. Which is silly of me, but I realize that there are people who don't like to see my boobs. As natural as they are at this point.

My public breast feeding areas have gone up. I've fed at the movies, at Swiss Chalet, at Reitmans and in Chapters at the Starbucks. As well, I've fed in two parking lots. I've fed around the family, mine and in-laws, aunts and uncles. I've fed on the phone. I've fed at my computer. I can feed anywhere, any time. I have yet to be reprimanded for doing this, so I have yet to fight for my breast feeding rights.

I want to continue with Breast feeding as long as I can. Even when he needs solids - I'll pump to put in a cup if necessary. At least until he's one - at least. I don't want to continue it forever, but I do want to continue this feeling that I'm doing something wonderful for my child. I can provide what he needs. That's not something that I can always do.

I understand that some people can't or choose not to breast feed. I have chosen to. I really am proud of myself.

This is a cartoon I found on the web. I like it muchly. Enjoy:


(1 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *