New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

I Never Saw Another Butterfly, 2002-01-26, 6:01 p.m.


This ring has been set up for anyone who has been touched by the book or the play 'I Never Saw Another Butterfly' - stories and pictures by children in Terezin Consentration Camp. I've called it butterflies, as that is what we should aim to be - free like butterflies. For those who have never heard of the book, this page will start you out.

Here is the title poem:

"The Butterfly"

The last, the very last,
So richly, brightly, dazzlingly yellow.
Perhaps if the sun's tears would sing
������against a white stone. . . .

Such, such a yellow
Is carried lightly 'way up high.
It went away I'm sure because it wished to
������kiss the world good-bye.

For seven weeks I've lived in here,
Penned up inside this ghetto.
But I have found what I love here.
The dandelions call to me
������And the white chestnut branches in the court.

Only I never saw another butterfly.
That butterfly was the last one.
Butterflies don't live in here,
������in the ghetto.

      Pavel Friedman 4.6.1942
There are no real rules for this ring. You just have to have been influenced by this work. Please add the ring code as soon as you can. If you are like me and don't like having the original ring code (the %% whatever stuff), and don't know how to rewrite it, you can take a look at my rings page code and see how it's done.

To join, follow this link.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *