New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Bye Bye Jane, 2002-11-22, 6:57 a.m.


I've decided that I'm not going to buy Jane magazine any more.

See, on their cover was the line "A-lister's bombshel: "I guess I am gay,", P.105".

On page 105 was an interview with Justin Timberlake. He was being overly macho, and a little annoying (at least as reported). However, for some reason, instead of just being snarky about him, they decided to question his sexuality.

I have no problem with homosexuality. I have no problem with heterosexuality. What I do have a problem with is people using the mentioning of being gay to insult.

Perhaps Justin Timberlake is gay. So what? He's allowed to be. To use the mention of it to insult is just wrong. It appears that he was very macho in the interview and made overly sexual comments and the like. The article made me roll my eyes and think that it must have been annoying to interview him. However, when I saw how they touted it on the cover, my thoughts changed. How is it revenge to call someone gay when they've given you an interview that you didn't enjoy? Doesn't that insult the gay community, knowing their born-into lifestyle has been used to deflate machoness of a pop star?

Just imagine the interview was with David Duke who was at one time (if he isn't still) the head of the KKK. If on the cover it said 'I guess I am black', wouldn't people react? Why can we make sexuality slurs and no one reacts and then a racial slur gets a reaction?

Am I being totally nuts? I just don't like it.

I resented Jane when it first came out for not being 'Sassy'. I read it reluctantly, however, enjoying that I had a monthly magazine. I started to question it more when a prof questioned my reading of it. 'Bitch - Feminist Response to Pop Culture' made me question more. But this was all guided questioning - thoughts spurred by someone else. Now, I'm done with it. Done.

Can anyone reccomend a good monthly magazine?


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *