New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Chicken and Fish, 2003-05-26, 7:05 a.m.


Last night, I made a decision. I'm going to start eating chicken and fish again. I've not eaten it for almost seven years (ten years for red meat) and so I'm scared and don't really want to do it. But, see, if I ever become pregnant, right now, my body would mess up my child. My B12 is really really low (I take two 1200 mg tablets every morning and if I don't I'm really tired), my iron is low and other things are low. Soy has been shown to be bad for womyn with PCOS (at least, that's what it seems - has to do with the estrogen) and that, plus cheese, is my major protein source. As in, I have soy five to seven days of the week. Studies have shown that womyn who are vegan (which I'm not) or are low in things because of lack of meat have children that are deficient in those areas as well and who have developmental delays. I don't want to have a child that might have something wrong with it that I could have prevented. There are so many factors that go into the making of a human and they're all so delicate. I don't want to mess one of them up and be faced with self-inflicted guilt because of it.

So chicken and fish it is. No red meat, no turkey. And not much processed meat, if any. And, when I have a choice, veggies will be it.

I hate having to do this - it means giving up a part of me - but it has to be done.

I'm sure that loads of you have comments or suggestions on how I could avoid this, but I think I'm just going to say that it's a done deal. A decision that is made and final. Which, to be blunt, sucks ass.

To cheer myself up over it and because I've had a couple reviews lately that said my layout was boring, I went through some of my old designs. Expect an entry with screenshots soon, showing off what I used to do. Because yes, I used to design. A lot. I almost started two design sites (waterhouse designs and ginger designs). I participated in the auctions. And I did designs for friends. This is the fifth design for this site and it may change soon, when I get inspired. I started to get inspired last night, looking at some old stuff. So we shall see.....


(2 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *