New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Boring, Cuba, Butts and Scooters, 2002-02-04, 6:33 a.m.


I had a dream about my diary last night.

I dreampt (sp?) that I went and looked at my guestbook and there was a message there. It said something to the effect of "You used to be really interesting. Now you're quite boring. No wonder people visit". It then said that anything after this entry was dreck, and that my diary had gone really downhill.

I think I spend to much time at diaryland.

In other news, dad is back from Cuba. It's an exchange program with his school and one there where the students go to school down there, studying the life and culture of cuba. He brought me a beautiful sarong, as well as a necklace and bracelet set. He also told me about some of the things he learned. Two stood out, but for different reasons.

The first was lesser. You can rent scooters there for 12$ a day. That would be amazing - touring Cuba on a scooter. Seeing the sites as you should see them - no walls. As I've not driven a scooter since the First Annual Illegal Canada Day Scooter Races, this appealed.

The second is a much weightier piece of information. Dad was telling me about a group there, whose name I cannot remember. They are a mixed race originally - Black Slaves that married Spainards (this is what dad said - if anyone can correct me or give me the name of this ethnic background, please do. The womyn in this group are known for their, ahem, large bottoms (or backs, as the person doing the presentation called it). They apparently have huge butts. Now, in North American culture, we would try to hide that. Jennifer Lopez, known for her bottom, has tried to downplay it. We, as a culture, try not to have the word 'huge' describing anything that isn't breasts. Yes, I know this is a generalization, but in my experience, a honest one. These womyn, do they hide it? No. They wear spandex. Often. My point? Well, it's more of a question. Why can't we embrace our bodies that way? Why is this type of healthy body image foreign to us? I've been at the gym where girls have asked each other 'How long do I have to do this to lose that pound?'. I've talked to males who have said they are used to going days without food because of wrestling. Yes, there are people who are not at all like that. But with the Psychological society coming out with 'Disordered eating' as a fourth eating disorder, recognizing that there are many people who have a messed up attitude with their bodies and their food. This is where we are. How do we get to the spandex? I don't know. But it was enough to make me think.

Not a great thing to write about before 7 am as well, I don't know if this is at all coherent. Ah well.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *