New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Opinions of the day, 2002-02-26, 7:19 p.m.


Alanis is beautiful. She really is.

A few weird conversations today. Or perhaps a few weird comments plus a few conversations that I feel very strongly about.

One comment that I heard today was that I was the coolest teacher. Considering I'd been feeling quite low about the relationship I've developed with some of my students and totally convinced that a particular grade was not fond of me at all, this was nice to hear. Other comments all regard the impending strike. I hate that we're going to strike and students don't care. Well, some do. But those clapping with glee don't. Perhaps because they know they will most likely still get their year and it won't really change their life. A few weeks off school and that's it. I remember when I was in high school. The day of my prom/grad the teachers went on strike. We didn't really care that we were missing time. That we didn't finish courses. Of course we had AP exams written and only had to worry about publics. Which we protested against. Yet, I was concerned. My parents are teachers. Strike pay is not substantial. I don't want to have to go through that now that I have a job. So it's horrid and I'm watching it unfold, powerless. So many comments about that, so many worries.

Hey, I'm watching ASN with commercials. This is neat.

The conversations that I had today were about issues I feel strongly about. The first was about sexual abuse and abusers. I believe that it's right that after a sexual abuser gets out of jail the neighbourhood knows there is a sexual abuser in the neighbourhood. Or at least the community knows. The person I was discussing this with said that they've done the time, so they're forgiven for the crime. My counter was that they have, quite possibly, ruined the life of the person they abused. Plus, sexual abuse is the crime that has the lowest statistic of rehabilitation. Why should they be able to leave jail and set up residence in a neighbourhood and not have anyone be on their guard? I support this, feeling you can forgive (if you are the victim) but you can never forget.

The other conversation was about quotas and work places. I don't believe in them. I don't think that you should hire someone because of their gender - female or male. I think that if workplaces aren't equal you should investigate why and provide initiative and training for the other gender to fill make the workplace equal, but hiring someone less on their gender and more on what they know. Work from there.

Both of these opinions have been brought to you by the letter M and the letter E. If you have any problems, feel free to discuss.

In other news, still no work from Grad school or from my stats exam. Bah.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *