New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Eleanor of Aquitaine, 2003-05-05, 7:04 a.m.


I bought a new book this weekend. We had gone to chapters to purchase magazines and when we arrived, books were 25% off. How could I not purchase a new one? Really, it was a savings of 50% on 200% when you consider I bought two. How could I not save 50%?* And one was for D. to replace the one I bought him at christmas that wasn't the right one (I bought one about Kevin Mitnick, not the one written by Kevin Mitnick. Whose girlfriend, by the way, has a blog.)

Anyway, the book I bought was called the 'Book of Eleanor' by Pamela Kaufman. It's the story of Eleanor of Aquitaine and was fantastic. If you're at all interested in strong womyn from the past, this book is one that you may like. Eleanor was the first Duchess of her land, as her father trusted her enough not to name a relative as a duke. She was queen of france and managed to have it annulled. She was queen of england and led a failed crusade against her husband, backing her sons. She sponsored education for womyn. And she was educated herself. I'd read some of her work in Medival Womyn Writers, but learning more about her like this was amazing. Check it out, if you are so inclined. I've loaned it to mom, otherwise I'd have more info on it here.

Yes, I know that 50% of 200% is 25% of 100%. It just sounds better to say I saved 50%. No one needs to know of what percentage that is from :)


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *