New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Family, 2004-01-01, 8:12 a.m.


Well, happy new year everyone. D. and I were real party animals last night. We barbequed and then hung out. It was relaxing. Relaxing to the point that I fell asleep around 8:45 and was 'sent to bed' at 9:30 or so (D. makes sure I don't sleep for long on the couch because it hurts my back a lot, no matter how comfy it is.) D. came to bed an hour or so later.

We've had some really nice new years before. Last year (2002 becoming 2003) we had d. and p. over for a barbeque. We watched bad tv and everyone seemed to fall asleep at one point or another. When we left, the people downstairs were in our backyard, huddled together, her pregnant belly just inches over the head of their child, his arm around her, his gun over his shoulder, the shells surrounding them. They were scary.

The year before (2001 becoming 2002) we just hung out I think, most likely with junk food. D., Ollie and I. No crazy people in our backyard shooting that year.

Year before that? New Years 2000 becoming 2001 I think I visited parents and then fell asleep in the living room. That was the year there was a huge storm and my car didn't have heat. I visited my parents and then drove my brother and sister in to town, all of us fearing for our lives. Heat defrosts windows, which is nice when the roads are so covered that you have trouble getting through. Cuddling never felt so good. I was awake for the fireworks outside and teased D. about it as he'd fallen asleep - for once, I was the one awake.

1999 becoming 2000 we had two suppers - one at my parents and one at D.s when his parents still lived in the suburbs. We were late, as usual, for D.s parents and my veggie stuff was cooked when I got there, delaying supper. D.s parents often go out, but with the y2k stuff, his dad was on call.

Wow. When you recount New Years in that format, it doesn't seem to show the changes in lives. How we changed as the years progressed until we are where we are now. Perhaps the changes are not stronger than the sence of family that goes through them all: in all of those stories, there are family involved, be it parental figures, brothers, sisters, in-laws. Each other. Not all of those people are with us any more. None are the same. Relationships have changed, careers have changed, people have changed. Yet, we're here. Families together.

Next year, we'll have another family member. I think that the stories will continue of families together, whether it's a small family gathering or a big one. For no matter the changes, the stories have been the same and next year should be no different.

I don't really believe in celebrating New Years. But I do believe in family.


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *