New * Older * Me
Profile * Notes * Book
Rings * Reviews
Friday Five * Writings
Web design and photo � Heavenly Ginger,
here because of Diaryland
Brush from this site

We Have Brains Collab

< ? diary of a feminist ! >
< ? blogs by women # >
< # Blogging Bitches ? >

<< # Bitch Club ? >>

100 Books Club

Fathers day, 2004-06-21, 10:51 a.m.


Well, yesterday was father's day. A milestone one in two ways - D's first one as a father and my fathers first one without a father. P. and I visited my parents for lunch then came home and went out and played with D's RC truck that was his present to himself (I got him a gmail account as I have little money).

It was discussed how this is Ds third fathers day without his dad. I think that Dad can empathize now. We discussed how that summer, I messed up fathers day - I thought it was the second sunday of the month. So I dropped D. and his gift off at his parents house and went out to mine with my gift. As I got out of the car and said 'Happy Fathers day! Here's your flowers' I was laughed at and reminded that fathers day was the following week. I called D. who'd had the same reception. His family decided to celebrate anyway and went out for a steak dinner. The following week his dad was back in the hospital. That was the last big, fancy meal he ate as after that he was to sick. Weird how those things work sometimes hey?

But yes, fathers day was good. We have pastries in the fridge and a happy baby boy who makes everything - even a grandpas first fathers day without a father - seem just a little better!


(0 comments)

<<

>>


Miss
These?
* Moving Day ** Things I know ** Where I whine about food ** Long sickness description ** Explaining *